Kuwait suspends passenger flights to more than 30 countries

Kuwait Intl Airport begins gradual resumption of operations but flights to and from high risk countries remain suspended
Kuwait, Kuwait airport, Kuwait International Airport
Juhasz Imre/Pexels

Kuwait has added more countries to its flight suspension list amid fears of opening up the country too quickly.

Kuwait International Airport resumed commercial operations at 30% capacity on 1 August after a strict lockdown which came into force in March.

But a Tweet from Kuwait’s civil aviation authority confirmed that flights to and from a number of countries deemed to be ‘high risk’ have been suspended to prevent a surge in coronavirus cases.   

The list currently includes the following countries: India, Iran, China, Brazil, Columbia, Armenia, Bangladesh, the Philippines, Syria, Spain, Singapore, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Iraq, Mexico, Indonesia, Chile, Pakistan, Egypt, Lebanon, Hong Kong, Italy, Northern Macedonia, Moldova, Panama, Peru, Serbia, Montenegro, Dominican Republic, and Kosovo.

The new list is substantially larger than the original one which included only Bangladesh, Philippines, India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Iran and Nepal.

Kuwaitis took to social media demanding bans on more countries including Egypt after EgyptAir announced 15 weekly flights to the country.

Kuwait International Airport will gradually ramp up its capacity this year before returning to full operations by August 2021.

Most Popular