Here it is! The Aviation Business Awards shortlist

By AVB Staff 20 September 2017

This year, the Aviation Business Awards received double the number of entries compared to the last edition of the event in 2016.

Companies needed to have been in operation for at least 10 months before the judging process to qualify for the Awards.

After evaluating entries, we were able to settle on the shortlist below. They will now be judged by an independent panel of industry experts from around the world including the Middle East with the results to be announced at the 11th Aviation Business Awards on 11 October at the Grosvenor House in Dubai


Management Service Provider of the Year

Empire Aviation Group
ExecuJet Middle East
Gama Avaition


Ground Support Services of the Year

Aviation Services Management (ASM)
dnata Airport Operations
Go Aviation Middle East and Go GSE
Jetex Flight Support
UAS International Trip Support


Low Cost Airline of the Year

Jazeera Airways
Air Arabia


MRO Service Provider of the Year

Etihad Airways Engineering
ExecuJet Middle East
VD Gulf


Engineering Innovation of the Year

ALS Logistic Solutions 
Etihad Airways Engineering - Composite Repair
Honeywell's JetWave Satellite Communications System


Fixed Based Operator (FBO) of the Year

ExecuJet Middle East 
Gama Aviation Sharjah
Jetex Flight Support


Technology Innovation of the Year

3D-Printed Aircraft Parts - Etihad Airways Engineering
ALS Logistic Solutions
Approach Peak Offload Procedure (APO) - DANS
UAS International Trip Support


Business Aviation Operater of the Year

Empire Aviation Group 
ExecuJet Middle East 
Gama Avaition 
Kanoo Travel 
Royal Jet 


Corporate Social Responsibility Initiative of the Year

Air Arabia PJSC
ORBIS Flying Eye Hospital - FedEx
Kilimanjaro Climb for WaterAid - Gama Aviation 
Wildlife Conservation Initiative - Etihad Aviation Group


Training Provider of the Year

Emrill-Centre of Excellence (Airside Staff Training)
Etihad Airways Technical Training
Navcon Aerospace


Airline of the Year

Air Arabia PJSC 
Saudi Arabian Airlines (SAUDIA) 


Airport of the Year

Sharjah International Airport 
Dubai Interntational Airport - Dubai Airports
Ras Al Khaimah International Airport


Aviation Executive of the Year

Dennis Cruz  
Jamal Abdulnazar  
Paul Griffiths
Vito Gomes  
Paras Dhamecha



Judging Panel:

Leonard Favre, Managing Partner, 1BlueHorizon

Miquel Ros, Aviation Consultant and founder of Allplane

Henry Harteveldt, President and Chief Analyst, Atmosphere Research Group

Nick Humphrey, Partner, KennedysLaw

Vaughn Cordle, Partner, Ionoshpere Capital

Issa Baluch, Board of Directors, FIATA and Bectrum Investment International

Masood Hassan, Founder and CEO, ASCOM

Shayan Shakeel, Editor, Aviation Business Middle East


  • Email